Back to Top

CLE Requirements

Louisiana attorneys are required, according to the Louisiana Supreme Court, to complete a minimum of 12.5 CLE hours annually, including 1.0 hour of ethics and 1.0 hour of professionalism.

The compliance requirement for newly admitted attorneys is 12.5 hours, including 8 hours of ethics, professionalism or law office management, which can be earned in the year of admission and the following calendar year.

Please read Rule 3 from Rule XXX. Rules for Continuing Legal Education for more information.

Loyola CLE will also assist participants in obtaining credit for other states and for other professions. Please email for instructions on obtaining the appropriate credit.



Reporting Attendance

Each Louisiana attorney should complete and turn in an MCLE Attendance form while attending a CLE. We will then submit the forms to the LSBA within 30 days of the activity. Please note that the LSBA will not accept attendance forms from an individual member.

Out-of-state attendees should fill out a Uniform Certificate of Completion while in attendance at a CLE and submit it to their state's bar association.


Laura Ponoroff
Director of CLE 
(504) 861-5417